Very BLACK, Very PROUD

 

The audacity to be this black and be happy, the audacity to be this black and comfortable, the audacity to be this black and living. Yet, it is this very blackness that should have chained me that gives me the freedom to be me.

I turn 22 this year and never have the words young, gifted and black meant as much to me as they do now. Earlier in my life, being black, this black , was a burden. I was the darkest kid in schools, at church, in my family and many made it their task to ensure that I never forgot this. To them it was a curse, the worst thing that a person could be and for many years my mother had to tell me that black was beautiful. Mothers were supposed to say that to you, so while it was appreciated, it carried very little weight. So there I was, a young very black girl with very little self-confidence.

A couple of years into this blackness, I had experienced 6 schools and at all 6, someone had taken it upon themselves to pick at my confidence. It was my identity and attached with the identity of blackness, it didn’t surprise many when I was good at sports but it shocked them when I was kind, or when I excelled in class. After all, how dare I ?

I moved to the Bahamas when I was 18 and this is a very important part of my story because of the timing and what it did to my identity. SO there was getting up and what follows, is living.

When I reflect on the many things that moving taught me, I can not forget to share that it was there that my  redefinition of self began. I had to leave my home to find a strong sense of self value and appreciation. The Bahamas, while beautiful, is gravely plagued with colourism. Colourism as a word means that people of the same race consider themselves or others superior or inferior based on the shade of their skin and while I had observed this practice in my own country, I had never experienced it the way I did there. Perhaps this was because I was old enough to understand the dynamics of it. In the first few weeks of living in the Bahamas, I had already started to hear little comments about my skin, and how  it was “so black” and how I “mussy Haitian”, and how  I “don’t bathe”.  On one occasion, sitting in a hair salon, a woman walked up to me with her bleaching creams and said she had one that would work well on my skin, like in all my years of living, it hadn’t occurred to me that I was in fact, dark. Don’t get me wrong, every now and then I got a compliment but the negatives stood out. I had left Zambia and was still facing the same issues, my blackness was not going anywhere  and neither were the people.

BLACK

The difference with experiencing colourism in the Bahamas, is that I was away from things familiar and things that I drew my identity from. I was in the perfect position to redefine myself. Technically no one knew me and I could create my own identity as this time those that mocked me, although majority black, were not my people and I’d be damned if I let them define me. It started with the decision to cut my hair. If I was going to appreciate myself, I wanted to confront all my insecurities head on and with no hair, I couldn’t cover my forehead. It was the most naked, empowering thing I could have done and that simple step towards self-appreciation began a chain reaction that resulted in others appreciating and being inspired by me. Imagine that, this black girl inspiring, creating and flourishing. I hadn’t imagined that my blackness would lead to me being a part of something meaningful.

I look back at how far I’ve come and I remember walking into a gallery with my friend Juno, and meeting Antonius Roberts. Mr Roberts, a renowned artist, had seen me and his first comment was, “Oh, my God, you’re beautiful”.  I looked at him and went into a panic. I felt embarrassed instead of feeling proud and thankful. Over the years, I had become so suspicious of compliments and thought of them as a form of ridicule. My reaction set the foundation of our friendship and from it came discussions that brought me to slowly appreciate many elements of my being. Mr Roberts and I talked about being African in the Bahamas and being this shade of black in the Bahamas. We talked about beauty and my reaction to compliments. We talked about women and their rights and we inspired each other. After a few talk sessions with him I became his muse and he used his inspiration and other dialogue to create an entire exhibition on Equality and Respect.

I wrote this for the Equality and Respect exhibition:

“Who are you after you leave everything you think defines you

and must sustain yourself? When no one will watch over your

actions as was done before? When it seems like God is not

watching you and you are left alone, in a new place, and you

must decide who you are before you lose the very foundation

of your existence?

I decided that I would wear my blackness with strength and

pride. I would love the skin I was in; I would not allow anyone

to steal my confidence.

I decided to be the woman whose presence screams

confidence, peace with oneself and joy.

When you move to a place where colorism is so strong, you

can’t afford to be unsure of your blackness or of your heritage.

You must love yourself and share that love with others, by

accepting and embracing yourself.”

 

The truth is that even as I wrote those words, I have never believed them and embraced them as much as I do now.Today, I am back in the land that I thought I drew all of my identity from, and I am not that very black, ashamed little girl. I am a woman who embraces what it means to be this hue. I wear whatever colour I want. I’m not “too black” for anything. I’m not “pretty for a dark skin girl”. Listen, I am just as much woman as the next one. I am hard-working. I am soft. I am happy. I am, not in spite of my blackness but because of it. I am young, gifted and black. So, next time you are questioning my audacity, remember, getting there was a journey and much of it lies ahead. I am ever so grateful for Instagram and the melanin inspired hashtags, because incase I forget, there is another strong, sexy, independent, happy, flourishing, wholesome black girl reminding me that OUR hue is beautiful .

I end with this, the presence of someones beauty does not mean the absence of your own. Find peace in that.

I have.

Sincerely yours,

Naked

 

1417676_626430204065735_950890848_o

 

 

 

39 thoughts on “Very BLACK, Very PROUD

  1. kudos. To a sister that has inspired me to smile. she has been a role model for me. taught me that’s it’s okay to love who you are in despite of the next persons’ “uncomfortableness” . she has taught me that it is okay to always smile, to in courage my blackness, to wear my skin. she is beautiful and she is soft. she is black ❤

  2. It is such a blessing to read these words. My eyes swell with water as I read because I know these feelings all too well! I congratulate you on loving who you are…..and that is BEAUTIFUL!

    All Shades Are Beautiful!!!!!

  3. Colourism still seems to be rife in the entertainment world (particularly from USA) where black female performers seem to get paler by the year. Take Beyonce’s blonde locks and Nikki Minaj’s transformations as typical examples. There needs to be more high profile performers who stay true to their natural hue and show that it doesn’t matter what colour you are that you can still look great and catch the eye.

    The cosmetics industry has got a lot to answer for too. The number of times I’ve seen an African women with dark hands and arms, but a face painted to look lighter than my white skin saddens me. I’ve seen bottles of face creams with descriptions like “skin freshening” and “brings brightness to your face” which are full of bleaching chemicals, and the women who use them wonder why they end up with terrible complexions (which often results in them applying even more make-up and creams to cover it up, making it even worse).

    Great article, and I hope there’s some younger girls out there who’ll see your face on TV or online (does anyone read magazines any more?!) and give them the confidence with their own skin colour. Keep fighting and keep smiling 🙂

    1. Thank you so much for taking the time to read this. I agree with you that there needs to be more women who embrace themselves. I think that it is really a journey and it probably gets harder the higher up you go because all these ideal are imposed on you and you are fed the idea that to succeed you must conform. So as I continue to be grateful for those who have embraced their hues, I am understanding of those who are still on the journey.
      Thank you Dave.

  4. This is pure strength. Im stoked to see such compassion in your words. I felt you standing on a podium in something bright and frilled, head wrap on AND a huge smile talking about BLACK and PROUD. We went to the same high school at a point, Lake road. And its just amazing to see you not just blogging but even featuring in adverts, the vodafone one, after I saw you there everyone else’s role was useless. You keep at it.

    Izu

    1. Absolutely heart warming Izu. Thank you so much for your positive words and seeing this as I hoped it would be seen. Best believe I’m rocking my frills and head wraps. hahah. Love it!!

  5. Alaba, I am so proud of the young model you have blossomed into. You are beautiful, Inspirational and blessed ❤

  6. Alaba , this beautiful and inspiring! I am so proud of you! I will save this for my gorgeous baby girl x

  7. Always saw you as a beautiful person inside and out. May your story inspire other young women to embrace themselves no matter their hue. Thanks for sharing.

  8. Alaba, one day we shall grow out of our “isms and schisms”. Maybe. I will agree that you may have come to The Bahamas with some apprehensions and expectations but left here a strong beautiful young lady. I know that you made your family here proud and will continue to do so. Hope to see you again .

  9. Very inspiring. We need to acknowledge our uniqueness and appreciate that we are each made in the image of God

  10. Hi I’m Bev, your piece is encouraging to a lot of young girls out there who are embarrassed by the colour of their skin because they are made to believe that it is not a definition of beauty. Me and two other of my friends formed a group (@SKSPro) to help inspire people to think differently. My fellow friend and group member (Kraina) wrote this piece in order to achieve this goal and I feel like it relates to your piece in many ways.

    Dear black girl,
    ‘Go fix your hair’, is what they tell you
    Those tangled, unkempt curls that fall on your head are intimidating
    But in our minds more like breathtaking
    Curls that go way back
    Curls that were life changing
    Curls that caress your face and are way less work than straightening
    Dear black girl,
    Cover yourself
    For your thighs are too thick to wear those tight shorts
    Those same shorts that a white woman can wear
    Shorts that intimidate your beauty just like your hair
    Shorts that hold your skin just like your underwear
    Cover up black girl,
    No one wants to see your breasts escaping from your shirt
    But exposure or not,
    Men will always look, will always notice your curves
    So flaunt them through confidence and not nerves
    Wear your clothes like your skin,
    Like the dark colors of this earth
    Like the innocence of a mother who just gave birth
    Dear black girl,
    Admire your lips, your nose, your eyes
    For it is not blue or grey eyes that define you
    Or that pointed nose everyone abides to
    So breathe the breath of life through your round nose
    Study the ways of life through your black eyes so cold
    Kiss your lover with your plump lips so sweet and bold
    Sing to your child like you have a story to be told
    Dear black girl,
    Black is beauty and not a tragedy
    Black is not only a color of sin but a color to accept life
    For when you attend a funeral it is black that you wear and not white
    Open up your voice and sing to all the world
    Sing with a voice that wants to be heard
    For your dark skin absorbs love like it does sunlight
    Be you dark skinned or light skinned your love will shine bright
    Teach your children to be bold without freight
    Teach your daughter to spread her wings and fly like a kite
    Teach your son to not give up on love without a fight
    Dear black girl,
    You are not a whore, and neither a sex machine
    But you make love
    For a black girl will flaunt your body with desire if you show her you care
    She will kiss your lips and make you mourn so long as you wake up every morning and play with her hair
    She will let you play her body like a song and remove her underwear
    But only if you care
    For you must love her like you make love to her
    And hold her like you adore her
    And cherish her as if she was your sister
    Dear black girl,
    You are a woman of power and strength
    Your sharp mind entails wisdom and personality
    So do not look down upon women like yourself
    Help your fellow black sister gain love and sanity
    Support each other through ways of uncertainty
    Help build a name of women from your ethnicity
    Raise your children to love each other like siblings
    Dear black girl,
    Remember every memory like a moment
    For it is your deep irresistible love we cherish like a token
    Love held deep in our hearts always to be awoken
    ‘Go fix your hair’, are the words they have spoken
    But all I can reply,
    Is you cannot fix what was never broken.
    #kitty
    #ART

    To all the black girls out there, you are outrageously beautiful.

    Tag any beautiful black woman you know to inspire their day

    #beauty #Africa #women #inspiration #blackgirl
    #SauceKittySweater #skspro

    1. Thank you so much for sharing Beverly. I am so happy that people are reading this and it’s making a positive impact on their self confidence and image. I always think that’s such a beautiful thing. Black girl, soar!! Thank you for sharing

  11. I have never stopped thinking about that moment in school during computer science when people made fun of you. I am glad to see you’ve become so strong and inspiring. Great post.

  12. First of all, you are so beautiful. I’m sure you know this, I’m sure you dont need some stranger online to reassure it either but I had to say. As a very black black girl my self I understand your point of view to the t. It pains me to see the black race have so much self hate. We already have so much of the outside world hating on us but to bring our own self’s down it such a waste. Its wonderful to see a strong sister like you not let ignorance, hate, and jealousy faze her. Much love and God Bless.

Leave a comment